The Master Shearer: a series of four portraits

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not certain that he’d agree with my title reference to him being a “Master Shearer”, but Dennis Cameron of Charam, Victoria, has been shearing all his adult life, supplementing the farm income during lean years by travelling away to shear at other farms as far away as Warrnambool. Now in his 70s, he is still very hands-on at the farm, even taking a turn in the sling to shear a few sheep.

A busy working shearing shed can be a little overwhelming for me, but today it was just Dennis up on the board, with his son helping out, and I felt quite comfortable testing out my new prime lens, a second-hand Olympus 45mm f1.8 – my first prime since moving to digital a decade ago. (Boy, have I been missing out – it’s such a joy to use! No wonder I was dissatisfied with kit lenses.)

The next two shots show the kindness that successful farmers must have in dealing with their animals – something wasn’t quite right, and I caught this shot of Dennis checking the sheep (second photo).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This final shot is of father and son, working together with the seamless workflow of those who have done so for decades. I always feel privileged to observe them, and capture them in my photos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

