Burnt Out Pines: framing the majestic

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recently I took a few photos in this small burnt out pine forest about fifteen kilometers from where I live which was burned around the new year – it was a little grim, but also quite interesting. As I walked into the stand of blackened trees I was struck by the starkness of the orderly rows ahead; I turned, and my eye was immediately led out and back to an unharmed gum tree, back at the road’s edge.

Last weekend I attended basic bushfire skills training in my hometown, something I probably ought to have done years ago. In small, remote communities, having more helpers directly affects the greater our ability to “get the job done”. While I’m not looking forward to there being fire threats to the surrounding land in future, I do feel just a little less helpless.

Leave a Reply

