Postcards from [the road to] Geelong: deep fried satisfied

image

I love where I live, I really do – despite the glaring absence (generally) of interesting architecture: it’s as though the early visitors took a look around and decided it wouldn’t amount to much, so there wasn’t much need for prettying the place up with handsome civic construction. My hometown is, in fact, quaint, and the community welcoming – but I do long sometimes for a more interesting streetscape.

Trips away are an opportunity to find something different to photograph, and luckily I have that opportunity regularly. One town I pass through has lots of traditional architecture – and even sports a Gothic church with kangaroo gargoyles (horrors!), which I’ve tried to photograph, unsuccessfully, a few times.

Stopping at the fuel station today, I looked up, and found an irresistibly retro view.

Leave a Reply

