Not a fan of April Fools Day

Today I was reflecting on the theme of “Silliness” for a daily photography challenge that I’m participating in this month, over on instagram (instagram.com/melanieylang).

I am, and have always been, somewhat uncomfortable with what I perceive as “silly” behaviour in others, even though I’m not beyond a bit of silliness myself. So when someone made a joking comment today about me playing an April Fools Day prank, my reaction was a little extreme, which then sent me scurrying to the internet to see what’s been written by others with AS about their tolerance for tomfoolery.

It seems I am in good company; I found this blog post, and forwarded it to the person whose comments I had found challenging, which she took in good grace. I didn’t need to do that for her, so much as for myself in my all-consuming need to not be misunderstood, and to provide others with knowledge to allow them to judge me fairly.

What about you, what do you think of April Fools Day, and pranks in general?

We Function

Today is April Fool’s Day. It’s a joyful, mischievous cultural holiday celebrated in several countries by telling jokes, misleading others for amusement, and staging pranks on people. Why? Who knows. The origins of this holiday are undetermined, although Snopes.com does provide several possible origins on its April Fools’ Day Origins page.

I have never been a fan of April Fools Day. I don’t like staging pranks on people or being the target of pranks. I don’t like being mislead. I don’t like jokes about death or having to read through posts about ridiculous untrue things ad nauseum. This just isn’t fun to me. I’m not a prude. Halloween is my favorite holiday. Halloween even trumps St. Patrick’s Day and I’m irish! But there’s just something uncool about April Fools Day.

For years I’ve rolled my eyes and tolerating being called a “party pooper”, “wet blanket”, “prude” and other…

View original post 389 more words

Leave a Reply

