Hill, Tree, Sky: a sample of styles

P1056243-001 collage

Recently I took my new Olympus PEN E-PL3 with the kit lens out for a Sunday drive to see how it would go. Naturally, any new piece of equipment takes some getting used to, and I immediately started making minor criticisms: it’s heavier, it’s bulkier, the art modes are harder to get at for fast changes. Truly inconsequential problems that I know will be behind me in no time.

Driving over a bridge, an old tumbledown bridge alongside mirrored it, so we stopped for a look. As I walked over the old bridge, the view of the tree on the skyline, with the fenceline leading the eye up the steep hill to it, made me pause for quite a while to try out a few different modes. As usual, I loved shooting with the Grainy Black and White Art Mode, but it didn’t dominate.

When I got home and began editing, that’s when I fell in love with my new camera – there’s something just a little bit more about the images it produces, and this became clearer in post-editing. For those of you who love colour, I have included a single image, shot using the Dramatic Tone Art Mode.

Please click image to view full size.

 

Leave a Reply

