Beach Kite Day: returning to life in full colour

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday was my birthday, and I celebrated it beachside, two hours’ drive from home. For the first time in over six years, I unpacked and assembled my beloved kite – a small “Nexus” dual line sport kite, made by Prism Kites, and which I have often thought longingly of over the intervening flightless years. While rain clouds initially threatened the perfect flying weather, I launched her into the wind and flew with something approaching emotional relief; happily, the clouds dissipated, so I didn’t have to pack up early.

This year has been one of the toughest, yet most wonderful, of my life: reminiscent of another similarly tumultuous and grief-torn one eight years ago, when a lover died, and I first took to kite flying for therapy. Bringing my kite out was, therefore, quite momentous – and, as they say in my industry, “long overdue”.

In post-production I attempted to represent what this occasion meant to me by showing the kite (and its flyer) coming out of a quite dark and difficult period into the brightness and colour of now

I must give due credit to the person who took this photo (and helped with launching) – the one who fully accepts and loves me for who I am, not in spite of, and who has re-tuned my world from greyscale to full, vibrant colour. I am endlessly grateful.

melanie y’lang xxxx

Please click image to view full size.

One thought on “Beach Kite Day: returning to life in full colour

Leave a Reply

