North Lake at Dusk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You may recall that back in April I visited nearby North Lake on a bluesky cloudy day and was bewitched with the crystalline tears that lay in the dust of the lake bed, and sat on the salty powder as I contemplated the beauty of the waterless space with its salty dust storms.

A week ago I drove past and noticed it was half full; by today, after good rains this week, it had filled, and my heart leaped to see it so! As ever, as I drove past I contemplated how I might photograph it. On the drive home at dusk, with the last of the day’s light reflecting silver over the expanse of water, I was unable to resist the lure so pulled carefully onto the side of the road, and spent a few moments enjoying the view (“How’s the serenity? So much serenity.”)

That pause in my journey was perfected by Jeff Buckley singing Hallelujah on my stereo; through the open window I inhaled the damp air, heard the calls of settling ducks, and was glad I had stopped.

Please click image to view full size.

Leave a Reply

